Heisman Trophy Betting 2024

Odds, Picks, & Strategy


Welcome to our Heisman Trophy betting page, which will serve as a how-to guide for betting on the most prestigious award in college football at online sportsbooks across the country.

As legalized betting spreads across the United States, NCAA football betting on season-long futures markets such as the Heisman winner has become wildly popular. Below, we provide updated odds for next season’s award in addition to the betting history of the trophy.

2024 Heisman Trophy betting odds

How To Bet On Heisman Trophy

The Heisman Trophy, awarded to NCAA football’s most outstanding player each season, is the most distinguished honor there is for an individual player. Each year since 1935, the Heisman has represented athletic excellence while remaining one of the most iconic awards in all of sports.

When it comes to NCAA football betting, the Heisman Trophy is at the top of the list for many bettors. As is the case with many long-term futures markets, opening odds for the Heisman trophy come out as soon as the day after the current season’s national championship game. While those prices will fluctuate wildly as the offseason– and regular season– progress, bettors can lock in their bets as early as January.

From there, odds will stay up all season and prices move accordingly. Unlike other major league awards, Heisman odds can jump or dip with breathtaking volatility. Because college football teams’ postseason hopes can be dashed with a single loss, Heisman candidates on those teams often go down with the ship.

Conversely, up-and-comers who catch fire for a couple weeks can see their odds shorten quickly, as we saw in the case of Devonta Smith in 2020.

Payouts for the Heisman Trophy work just like any other moneyline. For example, if C.J. Stroud (+400) were to win the award, a $100 bet would win $400 back, plus the initial bet amount. All preseason Heisman picks will have plus odds, so the line represents the amount a bettor can win if risking $100. If a huge favorite emerges during the season and has a negative line, the odds would be what you must risk to win $100.

Heisman Trophy Betting Trends

Critics of college football are quick to bring up the seeming lack of parity. You have Alabama, Clemson, Ohio State, and Georgia– right?

In terms of champions, that conclusion is half-right. In terms of the Heisman Trophy, it couldn’t be further from the truth. Since 2014, no preseason favorite has won the award and all winners were +700 or longer at opening. The peak was this past season, where DeVonta Smith won the Heisman after being as long as +6600 as late as Week 9.

While the winner itself isn’t choreographed, the winner does typically come from a “Power Five” program (ACC, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12, SEC). The last Heisman winner from a true non-Power Five school was Ty Detmer of BYU back in 1990.

The other predictable note is that the Heisman Trophy has been dominated by quarterbacks in recent years. In fact, 17 of the last 20 Heisman winners have been quarterbacks, with the only exceptions being three Alabama stars: running backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015), and receiver Devonta Smith (2020).

The only true defensive player to win the award was Michigan’s Charles Woodson in 1997. So, while the nature of the winners is fairly predictable, pinning the exact player proves to be quite difficult.

Recent Heisman Trophy Winners

2021Bryce YoungQBAlabama
2020DeVonta SmithWRAlabama
2019Joe BurrowQBLSU
2018Kyler MurrayQBOklahoma
2017Baker MayfieldQBOklahoma
2016Lamar JacksonQBLouisville
2015Derrick HenryRBAlabama
2014Marcus MariotaQBOregon
2013Jameis WinstonQBFlorida State
2012Johnny ManzielQBTexas A&M
2011Robert Griffin IIIQBBaylor
2010Cam NewtonQBAuburn

Heisman Trophy Betting Strategy

Avoid Preseason Favorites

When it comes to betting on the Heisman Trophy, beware of early preseason favorites. As mentioned, favorites almost never come away the winner. In 2021, Oklahoma quarterback Spencer Rattler and Clemson quarterback D.J. Uiagalelei were the favorites, and fading these proves to be fruitful, as Alabama QB Bryce Young won the award with preseason odds around +900. In years prior, Trevor Lawrence and JT Barrett were a good fades.

Can’t Go Wrong With A Quarterback

Consider that the winner is almost always a quarterback. From 2000 to 2020, a signal-caller won the Heisman a staggering 17 times, and then another QB (Bryce Young) won in 2021. While betting a running back or a receiver could reap serious payouts, history points away from that being the case.

Focus On Winning Teams

The Heisman is an individual award and doesn’t really have any thing to do with team success, or at least it shouldn’t. But the fact remains that players on losing teams, or even teams that are only slightly above average, don’t win the award very much.

No player since 1969 has won the award while playing for a program with more than three losses. Recently, Lamar Jackson (2016) and Robert Griffin III (2011) played on teams that went 9-3. Other than that, you’re probably talking about the best player on one of the best teams in the country.

How Is The Heisman Winner Decided?

Winners are determined by the vote of the Heisman Committee, made up of a few hundred media members and previous winners of the award. The voters rank candidates in first through third place and the players are ordered based on points awarded from those votes. Three finalists are announced and days later, the winner is crowned in New York. The 2021 Heisman Trophy finalists were announced on December 6, with the trophy being handed out on December 11.

Where Can You Bet On The Heisman Trophy?

Up to $1,000
In Bonus Bets
  • First Bet Safety Net up to $1,000, or Bet $5 Get $150 in Bonus Bets
  • 30% Extra on Same Game Parlay Profit
  • Gambling Problem? Call or text 1-800-GAMBLER 21+ 
  • Use Bonus Code: Click to claim promo
Up to $1,500
In Bonus Bets
BetMGM Sportsbook Review
  • Up to $1,500 in Bonus Bets if Your First Bet Doesn't Win*
  • *Bonus Bets Expire in 7 Days. One New Customer Offer Only. Add’l terms. 21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER
  • Use Bonus Code: PLAYPICKS
$1,000 First Bet
On Caesars
  • Up to $1,000 Back as a Bonus Bet if Your Bet Loses
  • Stream NFL Games In-App for Free
  • 21+ Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER 
  • Use Promo Code: SEEK1000
Bet $5
Get $200
If Your Bet Wins
FanDuel Sportsbook Review
  • Bet $5 Get $200 in Bonus Bets if Your Bet Wins
  • PLUS a Daily Boost or Bonus All Summer
  • Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER. 21+ 
  • To Claim: Click Play Now
Up to $100 
Bonus Bet
  • Up to $100 Back if Your First Bet Doesn't Win
  • Get Your Bets Boosted
  • To Claim: Click Play Now
$500 Bonus
2nd Chance Bet
  • Up To $500 in Bet Credits
  • ONLY 1x Play Through!
  • 21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER 
  • Use Exclusive Affiliate Code: PLAYPICKS

Privacy Policy